Print Page | Contact Us | Sign In | Join or Register
What Qualifies for Recertification?

CAPs are required to recertify every five years from the month/year certification was earned or five years from the month/year of your last recertification. Within a five-year cycle, 60 recertification points are needed. 


Recertification points can be earned in three categories:

Professional Development (required category) 

  • To qualify, all education must align with the CAP Body of Knowledge (BOK) and provide at least 30 minutes of education.

  • Qualifying activities include: college courses, workshops, seminars, webinars, self-study courses, etc.

  • Points can also be gained by earning an IAAP specialty (OM or TA), Microsoft (MOS) certification, or other professional credentials.

  • 30 points must come from this category.

Industry-specific Professional Development (optional category)

  • To qualify, the education must provide transferable skills within an industry, provide at least 30 minutes of education, and fall within the realm of administrative or office professional duties. 

Leadership (optional category)

  • Holding Officer or Chair positions of a standing committee. 

*The Recertification Handbook will include specific details on qualifying activities and how points are calculated within each category.