Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Your Cart   |   Report Abuse   |   Sign In   |   Join or Register

Recertification: The Key to Continued Professionalism

Professional certification attests to the competency of those in a given profession. To verify the quality of these high standards, periodic reassessments are used to ensure that competencies are maintained.


For IAAP certification, that reassessment is accomplished through a program of recertification. Recertification is required every five years for an individual to keep their professional certification status. 

Points are earned in the categories of:

  • Continuing Education
  • Other Certifications
  • Leadership 

A combined total of 60 points is required for individuals every five years.

The IAAP certification makes a powerful statement by meeting initial high standards and maintaining those standards through recertification. All individuals who have applied for certification since January 1, 1988 or later are required to recertify. Individuals not keeping current through recertification will have their rating marked inactive and will no longer be eligible to use those ratings. A certificate is valid for five years and will be issued each time an individual is recertified.


Recertification information

Recertification Application

Recertification Spreadsheet

Certification Handbook


Membership Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal