This website uses cookies to store information on your computer. Some of these cookies are used for visitor analysis, others are essential to making our site function properly and improve the user experience. By using this site, you consent to the placement of these cookies. Click Accept to consent and dismiss this message or Deny to leave this website. Read our Privacy Statement for more.
Print Page | Contact Us | Sign In | Join or Register
CAP Specialties


return to certification overview page

Specialty Certificates are specifically developed for CAP designees to further enhance and differentiate skills sets within focused areas such as organizational management, technology, and project management. Given the fact all participants are CAP designees, we expect a higher level of skills and knowledge from participants in administrative duties and functions. This allows facilitators of the programs to dive deeper into the content areas since a baseline of competency is expected.



The Organizational Management (OM) Specialty is relevant and updated content for CAP Designees in good standing. The specialty certificate has moved from an examination-based assessment certificate to a more modern and relevant assessment-based certificate program.

It is an eight-week guided learning experience through learn@IAAP, IAAP's online learning platform. Participants do not need to be online at the same time allowing the busy administrative professional to complete the program around his or her individual work schedule and family commitments. Each OM course is limited to 30 participants to ensure a personalized learning experience.

The content is delivered through a combination of readings, videos, and/or case studies. Participants interact with each other and a facilitator through discussion threads, providing an engaging and social learning experience. There are assessments every two weeks and the final assessment is a culmination of the content learned during the course. To earn the OM certificate of completion, candidates must meet specific participation requirements and defined outcomes on all assessments.

OM participants should plan on spending five-seven hours per week over the eight-weeks.  OM is worth 40 CAP recertification points

The goal is for participants to apply the information learned to their specific professional situation with real-world application.

2019 OM Certificate Program Fees
IAAP Member Non Member
$325 $459

Fees are all inclusive; there are no additional charges for reading materials or assessments.

OM Specialty Certificate Program Outline:
  1. Organizational Behavior
    • Intrapersonal organizational behavior
    • Interpersonal organizational behavior (effective working relationships)
    • Workplace diversity
    • Creating impact through effective organizational behavior
  2. Compelling Communication
    • Communication Styles and Personality types
    • Professional workplace communication strategies
    • Communicate with influence
    • Conflict resolution in the workplace
  3. Effective Teamwork Skills
    • Benefits of Workplace Teams
    • High Performing Team
    • Understanding Team Roles
    • Managing Difficult Group Behavior
  4. Strategic Planning
    • Planning Fundamentals
    • Process and Procedures
    • Barriers to Effective Decision-making
    • Change Management

For detailed information, please download the OM Specialty Course Syllabus

*Candidates must be CAP certified in order to hold the OM specialty.

The OM certificate course registration is now open! Each class is filled on a "first come, first served' basis and will remain open until 30 participants are reached or one week before the start of the course. Please visit learn@IAAP and click CAP Specialty Certificates under Delivery Method in the learning catalog. Ensure you are signed in to receive correct pricing.



Individuals do not need to recertify their OM specialty, however, they are required to recertify their CAP certification. As long as the CAP certification remains active through the recertification process every five years, the specialty remains active.

*If the CAP credentials are revoked due to failure to recertify, the specialty credentials are revoked as well.



To learn more about additional CAP Specialty Certificate Programs, click here:


Stay Connected